The Shealey Law Firm criminal defense attorneys in Charleston can defend college students from charges involving various types of crime. Contact us if you or your child are facing legal consequences.
Simple Possession of Marijuana
In South Carolina, possession of 28 grams or less of marijuana is considered simple possession. This is a misdemeanor and carries up to thirty days in jail or a fine of $100 to $200 for a first offense. If convicted, an individual may also be ordered to undergo drug abuse programming which can be costly and time-consuming.
Minor in Possession of Alcohol
In South Carolina, it is illegal for a person under the age of twenty-one to purchase, attempt to purchase, consume, or knowingly possess an alcoholic beverage. The fact that a minor has an alcoholic beverage in her possession is enough to constitute knowing possession of alcohol regardless of whether the minor knew the beverage was alcoholic.
While it may seem like a minor offense, a minor in possession (MIP) can have a lasting impact on a student’s education and career prospects. An MIP is a misdemeanor and if convicted a minor may face up to thirty days in jail and/or a fine of between $100 to $200. In addition to legal consequences, any minor convicted with a MIP must undergo a costly and time-consuming alcohol awareness training program which can hinder them from participating in their typical activities.
If convicted, this charge can be damaging to a student’s academic and professional career. The attorneys at Shealey Law Firm understand how stressful these charges can be, especially for students and their parents.
Fake ID Charges
In South Carolina, a first charge of possession or display of a false identification document (ID) such as a driver’s license is a misdemeanor offense and carries a fine of up to $100 or thirty days in jail.
For a second offense, the stakes are much greater. Someone accused of possessing or displaying a false ID with a prior conviction faces a felony conviction with a sentence of up to five years in prison and/or a fine of up to $500.
If convicted, this charge can be damaging to a student’s academic and professional career as well as their credibility.
Public Disorderly Conduct Charges
In South Carolina, a person may be charged with public disorderly conduct in three situations.
First, if they are found on a highway or public place or at a public gathering in a grossly intoxicated state or behaves in a disorderly or boisterous way in public.
Next, an individual can be charged with public disorderly conduct if they use obscene or profane language in a public place or gathering or within hearing distance of a school or church.
Finally, an individual can be charged with public disorderly conduct if they fire a gun, pistol, or firearm within fifty yards of a public road or highway without just excuse and when they are not on their own property. This offense is a misdemeanor, but still carries a penalty of up to thirty days in jail or up to a $100 fine which can be disruptive to an individual’s life and reputation.
If you or someone you know is facing a Public Disorderly charge, the attorneys at Shealey Law Firm understand how stressful these charges can be. With a wealth of experience in defending against these charges, the attorneys at Shealey Law Firm will work to ensure the best outcome for you and your loved ones.
Contact us today by phone or online to request a consultation.